honey & cayanne coleslaw dressing

This is a very simple and delicious coleslaw recipe I came up with when I ran out of sugar! I’m not a fan of long recipe blogs so I’ll keep it short and .. Sweet! 🙂

I made a really yummy dinner the other day with loaded mashed potatoes, bbq chicken sliders and some cole slaw! I bought all the ingredients at the market except condiments, because I figured I had them at home. I had everything I needed, except the sugar for the coleslaw. 😳

We live out in the country, it’s about a 15-20 minute drive back to the market, and I did not want to make another trip into town again. So I started looking through the cupboards and drawers for sugar packet, instead I found some honey. Took my chances and tried it, and it was SO GOOD!!
Ingredients:

  • One bag of coleslaw salad (or cut up your own)
  • 1/2 cup of mayonnaise
  • 1/3 – 1/4 of honey, depending on the sweetness you want
  • Pinch of salt
  • Pinch of pepper
  • 2 tbs of vinegar
  • 1/2 table spoon of Cayanne pepper seasoning (more or less depending on your heat tolerance)

Place the coleslaw in a bowl and stir up the mayo, vinegar, honey and seasoning in a smaller bowl. Whisk the dressing together until it’s a thick liquid. Simply pour over the dressing on the coleslaw and mix until it’s evened out throughout the salad.


There you have it! Sweet and spicy coleslaw dressing. I loved the way it tasted on BBQ chicken sliders! 😋


Give it a try! Let me know if you like it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

